Forgot password? Sign Up!

Springfield, Illinois

Springfield is the capital of Illinois and the county seat of Sangamon County. The population is approximately 115,000, making it the sixth most populated city in the state.  Nearly 210,000 residents live in the Springfield metropolitan area.

The most famous past resident is Abraham Lincoln, who lived in Springfield from 1837 to 1861, when he went to the White House as president.

More information can be found on the City of Springfield website. and the Springfield Convention & Visitors Bureau website.



Springfield Public Schools
Springfield School District 186 comprises roughly 15,000 students pre-K to 12th grade. There are three high schools, 7 middle schools, 22 elementary schools, 1 early learning center, 1 adult education center, and 2 alternative programs.

For more information view the Springfield Public Schools website:

Sacred Heart-Griffin
With an enrollment at more than 800 young men and women, Sacred Heart-Griffin was formed in 1988 when Sacred Heart Academy and Griffin High School combined their spiritual, academic, and financial resources to form a new Catholic, Dominican high school.

For more information visit:

Springfield Lutheran High

Calvary Academy

Illinois State Board of Education - Illinois Report Card - Springfield Illinois Schools -


An ordinance was passed in 1886 to provide the city's first public library, the Springfield Public Library. Computers and audiovisual materials sit side-by-side with Lincoln Library’s 300,000 volumes of fiction, nonfiction, and reference materials. In addition, there is the availability of online research databases, home delivery through our Extension Services, and an e-library, lending materials such as audio books and eBooks. Popular areas are Youth Services for children and teens, and the Sangamon Valley Collection for genealogists and historians.

  • Lincoln Library
    326 South 7th Street

Phone: (217) 753-4900


Greater Springfield Chamber of Commerce
Downtown Springfield Incorporated
Local First Springfield


  • Springfield Police Department -
    800 E. Monroe
    Springfield, IL 62701
    Non-Emergency Phone: (217) 788-8311

  • Springfield Fire Department
    825 E. Capitol Ave.
    Springfield, IL 62701
    Non-Emergency Phone: (217) 788-8474